Boitumelo Kiepile

Head of Regulatory Affairs: South Africa Enel

Boitumelo Kiepile holds a Bcom (Honours) Degree in Economics from the University of Pretoria. He has more than 15 years’ experience in regulatory and policy matters in the financial and banking industry; telecommunications and energy sectors. He has held positions as Senior Economist at the National Treasury; Economic and Financial Analyst at the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA); and Senior Analyst in the Electricity Pricing and Tariffs Department at National Energy Regulator of South Africa (NERSA).

At National Treasury he was responsible for development of policy and regulations relating to the development of the banking sector; increasing access to financial services; ensuring stability in the banking sector and promoting equity in the sector.

At ICASA, he analysed tariffs of fixed and mobile telecommunications providers, and was responsible for the implementation of the regulatory financial reporting framework for telecommunication operators. He was also part of a Committee that reviewed the licence fee regulations for the telecommunication industry.

At NERSA he was responsible for Electricity tariff analysis; analysis of Eskom Expenses in line with Multi Year Price Determination Methodology (MYPD2); Drafting the Minimum Information Requirements for Tariff Applications (MIRTA) in the Electricity Supply Industry.

He was part of the team that reviewed the economic regulation framework for metropolitan municipalities; reviewed the regulatory rules for operating expenditure to be incurred by the metropolitan municipalities; and the tariff methodology – Rate of Return Methodology; and the Starting Regulatory Asset Base (SRAB) project for the metropolitan municipalities.

Currently, he holds the position of Head of Regulatory Affairs at a global renewable energy company based in Johannesburg and served in the Board of Directors of 5 Project Companies under Enel Green Power RSA.

He served as a Member of the Management Board of the South African Photovoltaic Industry Association (SAPVIA), and previously served in Governance Board of the South Africa Wind Energy Association (SAWEA) as well as Chairperson of the Policy & Markets Working Group of the same association.