Scientific Advisory Board 2018

The Scientific Advisory Committee will perform a rating of all submitted abstracts and thereby determine the selection of speakers in this year’s WindAc Africa programme. A peer-review opportunity will furthermore be given to all researchers presenting at WindAc.

The CSIR, Energy Centre has been appointed as the Chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee for the WindAC conference 2018.

This initiative will be headed by Energy Centre member Mr Greg Landwehr, supported by Mr Johan Stander and Mr Julian Naidoo, as well as Dr Karen Surridge-Talbott from SANEDI.

Keith Bowen

Chief economist at Eskom

Prof. Peter Freere

Associate Professor in Electrical Engineering, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU)

Jens-Carsten Hansen

Head of section of Integration and Planning, Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

Prof. Wei Hua Ho

Chair of Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of South Africa (UNISA)

Prof. Azeem Khan

Associate Professor department of electrical engineering, University of Cape Town (UCT)

Paul Lochner

Principal environmental assessment practitioner, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)

Prof. Johan de Koker

Head: Sustainable Energy Technology & Research Centre (SeTAR), University of Johannesburg (UJ)

Wikus Kruger

Graduate School of Business, University of Cape Town (UCT)

Barry Mac Coll

Senior Regional Manager for Epri

Dr. Amos Madhlopa

Senior researcher in renewable energy at the Energy Research Centre ERC, University of Cape Town (UCT)

Prof. Lochner Marais

Centre for Development Support, University of the Free State (UFS)

Prof. Josiah Munda

Professor and HoD: Department of Electrical Engineering, Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)

Andre Otto

SAWEP 2 Project manager: Renewable Energy, South African National Energy Development Institute (SANEDI)

Dr. Russell Philipps

Associate Professor in Mech. Engineering and manager of the Renewable Energy Research Group, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU)

Dr. Kurt Rohrig

Deputy director: Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy Systems Technology (IWES), Germany

Dr. Karen Surridge-Talbot

Centre Manager: Renewable Energy Centre of Research and Development (RECORD/SANEDI)

Johan Tande

Chief Scientist, SINTEF Energy Research, Norway

Prof. Johan Vermeulen

Associate Professor, Department of electrical and electronic engineering, Stellenbosch University (SU)

Richard Worthington

Freelance researcher and activist

Somila Xosa

Director:Transport Fuels, Department of Science and Technology (DST)

Owen Zinaman

Technical lead – 21st Century Power Partnership South Africa Program, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), USA

Sumaya Nassiep

Acting General Manager, Research, Testing and Development, Eskom Transmission & Sustainability Division

Willie Cronje

Smart Grid and Grid Integration Specialist

Roderick Crompton

Director of the Energy Leadership Centre at Wits

Gregory Landwehr

Principle Research Engineer, CSIR